140208 Experiencing Toast Box and Vanilla Cupcake Bakery ;)

wpid-20140208_124056.jpgLocation: G/F Bonifacio One Technology Tower, 31st St, Fort Bonifacio, Taguig City

image

Blueberry Cream Cheese at P65.00

I know there are a lot of good places to eat in Bonifacio Global City (BGC), Taguig but I haven’t had the opportunity to explore the area. I know its lame given that I have previously worked in one of the largest financial institution located there for at least 2 years. But true to my promise to myself this year, I plan to change that all so I started with Toast Box and Vanilla Cupcake Bakery.  This is one of those “unplanned trip” with a dear friend. Mas natutuloy kasi talaga kapag biglaan. So when I met up Shiela at the Fort for our long overdue bonding, we really had no idea where to go or what to do per se on that day which was perfect in hindsight because it gave us opportunity to chat for a bit. That “bit” took a while because the next thing we knew its close to lunch. 

Cold Milk Tea for P90.00

Cold Milk Tea for P90.00

We really didn’t want to walk round and round BGC, not with the scorching heat outside so we decided to just go with Toast Box (yeah we fail at planning at all…). I was always curious about Toast Box and what they offer. I have always admired the motif of the store whenever I pass by this place going to work. I like that its all white including the wooden tables and chairs which reminds me of those British places I often see on TV. It gives off that comfortable, classy, welcoming feel and yep with the hot weather blazing outside, that’s definitely what we needed.  Now a bit of information, Toast Box is owned and managed by the BreadTalk Group Limited. Their main outlets are located in Singapore and 28 outlets in Asia including the Philippines, which opened its first branch in Trinoma mall in 2007.

Nanya Seafood Laksa P225.00

Nanya Seafood Laksa P225.00

I know, I know you think I’d hold off eating hot noodle soup in this crazy weather but I had not tasted Laksa ever since I left Singapore and got a real taste of it some years back so when I saw it on the menu, I did not hesitate to order. I just made sure to include a tall glass of lemon iced tea to cool me down. Whenever I order this food I keep on forgetting to remind them not to include ‘togue’ in it. Don’t worry, its more of personal preference than anything else. Laksa is a spicy, rich curry noodle soup with prawns, fish cakes and tofu puffs. I just didn’t taste the “spicy” part which was  a downer but maybe because I have high tolerance for spicy food. My friend ordered the cheesecake and the milk tea. She was not crazy with the food but I distinctly remembered the milk tea for its strong flavor. Upon research, I learned that they uses Ceylon tea dust instead of regular tea leaves. I heard that the place is popular for its toast and coffee so I guess that is one thing to try next I visit.

image

Iced Lemon Tea P30.00 (as an additional to the Laksa).

So after munching our food, we stayed for a bit and enjoyed the ambiance while talking till our ears fell off. Then when we felt that we could take the heat again, we walked to the BGC bus stop and headed to Highstreet to visit Fully Booked bookstore and just roam around the area, again while catching up on each others stories.

image

Entrance to Vanilla Cupcake Bakery…located at Two Parkade 30th Street, corner 7th Avenue, Bonifacio Global City Taguig

Then we came across this place on our way to Titan 22 store, Vanilla Cupcake Bakery, where we stood outside admiring the colorful display of chairs, frames, lamps, chandeliers, vintage items, that were spread all over the store and of course the star of the bakery – the cupcakes. If with the Toast Box I felt classy, comfortable and homey, upon entering Vanilla Cupcake Bakery its like tapping into my inner girly self once again (mostly forgotten). Everything inside gives you that atmosphere of sweet, casual and fun place where one can just sit back and enjoy a piece of cupcake.

image

What a lovely place inside…full of pastel colors!

Love the mixture of small and big chairs, sofas, and assortment of different shaped tables in the store. And just look at those wooden, colorful chandeliers!

Loving the cute cutlery they have here....

Loving the cute cutlery they have here….

Since its a bakery, you’d think that this place is all cupcakes and sweets only. Well you are wrong as they serve all day breakfast, lunch, cupcakes, desserts, pasta and dinner so really you can stay at this place all day. This branch of Vanilla Cupcake Bakery Bonifacio High Street is open daily from 7am-12mn, according to their Facebook page.

image

Red Velvet cupcake P85.00

When we asked the attendant what’s their best seller, we were given this. The icing was too sweet for my friend so I ended up eating all of the icing. The base was soft but I think it lacks “moisture” inside. Not really sure but I wasn’t really a fan of it. Maybe I should try to eat the whole cupcake to get a better taste of it. I still prefer the cupcake in Mom and Tina’s Bakery.

wpid-20140208_143538_20140209162557922.jpg

Herbed Bacon Carbonara P195.00

I love this carbonara and the bread (not garlic bread)! I wasn’t really expecting to find such delicious (I think its the bacon!) pasta in a bakery! Talk about a BIG FIND! Definitely will go back to get a taste of this.

 Belgian Chocolate Mousse P135.00

Belgian Chocolate Mousse P135.00

I love chocolate believe me but I wasn’t able to finish the entire bottle and took this baby home! Sorry I was too full then (sorry) and may ‘umay factor’ na din. But that thing didn’t last long ‘coz right after I got home I sat down and ate that whole thing =)

image

Cafe Mocha P120.00

The Mocha was all right for me…bitter enough to counter the sweetness of the cupcake and the mousse.

Beautiful quotes you will find hanging on the wall by the cashier

Beautiful quotes you will find hanging on the wall by the cashier

We stayed a little longer and just watched people going in and out of the place. Almost everyone pulled their phone out and took pictures of the place and/or the cupcake. This place is really magical, feminine and dainty. I think we finally ran out of things to talk about us after  speculating about the owner of the place and what the inspiration behind the design, we said our goodbyes.  Fret not we promised to keep in touch and to go out again. As for the two places we visited, wells, I will definitely head back again to Toast Box for my breakfast fix and visit Vanilla Cupcake Bakery from time to time to satisfy my sweet cravings.

One thought on “140208 Experiencing Toast Box and Vanilla Cupcake Bakery ;)

  1. Pingback: [LATEPOST] Cupcakes at Vanilla Cupcakes Bakery | A Wandering Frog's Tale

Leave a comment